Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

So You Want to Be a Writer?: Teen Writing Guide: Resource Citations

A writing guide for teens aimed at writers of any skill level, from those who are just getting started on their writing journey to those who have been writing for some time.

All in One Place

All of the resources contained in the guide have been collected here, with hyperlinks and APA citations for ease of access!

Citations

So you want to be a writer?

Bukowski, C. (2003). "so you want to be a writer?" Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/so-you-want-be-writer

Books by Young Writers

Adornetto, A. (2011). Halo. New York, NY: Square Fish. 

Keplinger, K. (2011). The Duff. New York, NY: Poppy. 

Paolini, C. (2005). Eragon. New York, NY: Alfred A. Knopf.

Reekles, B. (2013). The Kissing Booth. New York, NY: Ember.

Van Wagenen, M. (2014). Popular. New York, NY: Penguin. 

Yousafezai, M. (2015). I am Malala. New York, NY: Back Bay Books.

Yi Fan, N. (2008). Swordbird. New York, NY: HarperCollins.

Zappia, F. (2017). Made You Up. New York, NY: Greenwillow Books

Writing Advice Books

Carter, A. (2019). Dear Ally, How Do You Write a Book? New York, NY: Scholastic.

King, S. (2000). On Writing: A Memoir of the CraftNew York, NY: Scribner.

Potter, E. & Mazer, A. (2010). Spilling Ink. New York, NY: Square Fish.

Revis, B. (2015). Paper Hearts, Volume 1: Some Writing Advice. New York, NY: Scripturient Books.

Video Advice

Department of English, Arizona State University. (Oct. 24, 2016). "Young Adult Authors Discuss the Writing Process." [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-IZ9nI6zOM&feature=youtu.be

From Your Favorite Writers

Gibbs, A. (2019). "'I got a lot of No's but one Yes changed everyting', says 'The Hate U Give' author Angie Thomas" Retrieved from https://www.cnbc.com/2019/03/22/angie-thomas-advice-for-aspiring-authors.html 

Walker, M. (2015). "21 of Your Favorite YA Authors on How to Be a Writer" Retrieved from https://www.teenvogue.com/gallery/ya-authors-how-to-write-a-book

Podcasts

"The Book Riot Podcast" (n.d.) Retrieved from https://bookriot.com/listen/shows/thepodcast/

"Write or Die" (n.d.) Retrieved from https://writeordiepodcast.com/

"Writing Excuses" (n.d.) Retrieved from https://writingexcuses.com/

Online Resources

"Go Teen Writers" (n.d.). Retrieved from https://goteenwriters.com/

Waters, M. (2015). "Teens Can Write, Too!" Retrieved from https://teenscanwritetoo.wordpress.com/

On the Ground Resources

"Chapter One Conference" (n.d.) Retrieved from https://chapteroneconference.org/

"Grub Street" (n.d.) Retrieved from https://grubstreet.org/programs/for-teens/

Venues that Publish Teens

"The Adroit Journal" (n.d.) Retrieved from https://theadroitjournal.org/

"The Apprentice Writer" (n.d.) Retrieved from http://www.apprenticewriter.com/

"Canvas" (n.d.) Retrieved from https://www.canvasliteraryjournal.com/

"Ember" (n.d.) Retrieved from http://emberjournal.org/

"Stone Soup" (n.d.) Retrieved from http://stonesoup.com/how-to-submit-writing-and-art-to-stone-soup/

Self-Publishing vs. Traditional Publishing

Friedman, J. (2017). "How to Find a Literary Agent for Your Book." Retrieved from https://www.janefriedman.com/find-literary-agent/

Friedman, J. (2016). "Should You Self-Publish or Traditionally Publish?" Retrieved from https://www.janefriedman.com/should-you-self-publish-traditional/

Sharing Your Work Online

"How to Publish on Wattpad" (n.d.) Retrieved from https://writerscircle.com/how-to-publish-on-wattpad/

Pellegrini, N. (2019). "Fanfiction.Net vs. Archive of Our Own." Retrieved from https://hobbylark.com/fandoms/fanfictionnet-vs-archive-of-our-own

Writing Contests for Teens

Hill, Denise. (2019) "Young Writers Guide to Contests" Retrieved December 11, 2019 from https://www.newpages.com/writers-resources/young-writers-guide/young-writers-guide-to-contests

"Scholastic Art and Writing Awards" (2019) Retrieved December 11, 2019 from https://www.artandwriting.org/

Online Young Writers Programming

"NaNoWrimo's Young Writer's Program" (n.d.) Retrieved from https://ywp.nanowrimo.org/ 

Using G-Suite

Deverell, Eva. (2019). "The Ultimate Guide to Google Docs for Writers" Retrieved from https://www.eadeverell.com/google-docs/

Creative Writing in College

Information about Various Degree Programs:

"2020 Best Colleges with Creative Writing Degrees" (2019). Retrieved December 10, 2019 from https://www.niche.com/colleges/search/best-colleges-with-creative-writing/

"Colleges with Great English, Creative Writing, and Literature Programs" (n.d.) Retrieved December 10, 2019 from https://www.collegexpress.com/lists/list/colleges-with-great-english-creative-writing-and-literature-programs/166/

Heimbach, A. (2019). "The 12 Best Creative Writing Colleges and Programs" Retrieved from https://blog.prepscholar.com/best-creative-writing-colleges-majors-and-programs

"Thirteen Colleges Every High School Creative Writer Should Consider' (2019). Retrieved from https://theadroitjournal.org/2019/04/18/best-creative-writing-colleges/

Defending the Humanities Degree

Guillén, M. (n.d.) "A humanities degree is worth much more than you realize." The Hill. Retrieved from  https://thehill.com/opinion/education/411925-a-humanities-degree-is-worth-much-more-than-you-realize

Jaschik, S. (2018). "Shocker: Humanities Grads Gainfully Employed and Happy." Inside Higher Ed. Retrieved from https://www.insidehighered.com/news/2018/02/07/study-finds-humanities-majors-land-jobs-and-are-happy-them

Ruggeri, A. (2019). "Why 'worthless' humanities degrees may set you up for life" BBC. Retrieved from https://www.bbc.com/worklife/article/20190401-why-worthless-humanities-degrees-may-set-you-up-for-life

Strauss, V. (2017). "Why we still need to study the humanities in a STEM world" The Washington Post. Retrieved from https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2017/10/18/why-we-still-need-to-study-the-humanities-in-a-stem-world/#:~:targetText=Yet%20there%20are%20more%20important,them%20at%20our%20own%20peril.&targetText=Within%20the%20humanities%2C%20one%20can,new%20culture%2C%20a%20new%20worldview.