Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A selection of comprehensive dictionaries on poetic terms and craft, featuring definitions, essays, and examples.
The Poetry Dictionary by
Publication Date: 2005-12-15
A comprehensive collection of poetry terms. John Drury's 'The Poetry Dictionary' is a reference for both students and teachers. Includes definitions of terms to effectively discuss the craft and examples from classic and contemporary poetry to illustrate the terms in use.
Dictionary of Postmodernism by
Publication Date: 2015-12-02
A Dictionary of Postmodernism is an authoritative A-Z guide of the critical terms and central figures related to the origins and evolution of postmodernist theory and culture. Explores the major names and ideas that have come to define the postmodernism, from Baudrillard, Jameson, and Lyotard, to the concepts of deconstruction, meta-narrative, and simulation - alongside less canonical topics such as dialogue and punk Includes essays by the late Niall Lucy, a leading expert in postmodernism studies, and by other noted scholars who came together to complete and expand upon his last work. Features a range of postmodernism perspectives, addressing its advocates and critics; its main public figures such as Derrida; its origins in modernism and semiotics, and its outlook for the future. The format is a series of brief essays rather than fixed definitions. It is a scholarly guide and an overall reference for the field.
Toward the Open Field by
Publication Date: 2004-06-24
The works in this anthology include essays, defenses, declarations, and manifestos, and the collection charts the changing notions of what a poem is, what a poet is, and why we read a poem. The timeline traces the development of stylistic and ideological strategies that have greatly influenced our current understandings of verse. The book begins with Wordsworth's 1802 "Preface" to the Lyrical Ballads and proceeds through 150 years of English language tradition, including the European poetries which greatly influenced it. These prose works allow the reader to share in extended conversations by poets about poetry during a vital period of literary experimentation. Includes work by Charles Baudelaire, André Breton, Aimé Césaire, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Emily Dickinson, T.S. Eliot, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Gerard Manley Hopkins, Langston Hughes, John Keats, Federico Garcia Lorca, Mina Loy, Stéphane Mallarmé, Marianne Moore, Charles Olson, Ezra Pound, Arthur Rimbaud, Percy Bysshe Shelley, Gertrude Stein, Wallace Stevens, Paul Valéry, Walt Whitman, William Carlos Williams, William Wordsworth and Louis Zukofsky.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics by
Publication Date: 2012-08-26
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics is a comprehensive and authoritative reference for students, scholars, and poets on all aspects of its subject: history, movements, genres, prosody, rhetorical devices, critical terms, and more. Updated for the twenty-first century. With more than 1,000 entries, ranging in length from brief paragraphs to major essays of 15,000 words, offering a more thorough treatment than conventional handbooks or dictionaries. More than 250 new entries cover recent terms, movements, and related topics.Broader international coverage includes articles on the poetries of more than 110 nations, regions, and languages Expanded coverage of poetries of the non-Western and developing worlds. Updated bibliography and fully indexed.
The Edinburgh Dictionary of Modernism by
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
This title covers the movements, concepts and figures associated with European modernism. This Dictionary gathers, delineates and makes accessible the literary, artistic, critical, cultural and political practices that we associate with Modernism. It provides a wide rangingresource both to the canon of "High Modernism" and to current theoretical perspectives that have contributed to the renewed interest in Modernism. Clear and fully contextualised definitions of key terms, concepts, texts, movements, practitioners, as well as influential critical views and legacies. The entries cover Anglophone Modernism as well as giving full attention to significant figures, ideasand movements in European, North and South American culture and to influences from non-Western cultures. It comprises authoritative entries written by experts in the field. For use by students and scholars, with chronological and thematic scope and comprehensive coverage.