Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Poetic Formats in Contemporary Poetry: A How-To Guide: References

References

References

 

Academy of American Poets. (2019). Poetry glossary. Retrieved from https://poets.org/lesson-plan/poetry-glossary

Agueros, J. (1991). Sonnet substantially like the words of F Rodriguez one position ahead of me on the unemployment line. Academy of American Poetry.  Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/sonnet-substantially-words-f-rodriguez-one-position-ahead-me-unemployment-line

Alarcon, F. X., & Galvan Rodriguez, O. (Eds.) (2016). Poetry of resistance: voices for social justice. Tucson, AZ: The University of Arizona Press. 

Apollinaire, G., & Picasso, P. (1918). Calligrammes: Poèmes de la paix et de la guerre, 1913-1916. Paris: Mercure de France. 

Auden, W.H. (1940). Villanelle. Retrieved from https://www.poeticous.com/w-h-auden/villanelle-1.

Baraka, A. [Media Sanctuary]. (2009, Feb 21). Why’s wise [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9EzLQZXMB1Y

Beasley, S. (2018). Flexing the form: contemporary innovation in the sestina. Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/text/flexing-form-contemporary-innovation-sestina.

Bennett, G. (n.d.). Sonnet 1. Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/sonnet-1.

Bennett, G. (n.d.). Sonnet 2,” Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/sonnet-2.

Berrigan, T. (2000). The sonnets: III. Poetry Foundation. Retrieved from https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/55674/the-sonnets-iii.

Bishop, E. (1979). One art. Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/one-art.

Brogan, T., BROGAN, T., ZILLMAN, L. J., SCOTT, C., & LEWIN, J. (2012). Sonnet. In R. Green, S. Cushman, & C. Cavanagh (Eds.), The Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics (4th ed.). Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press. Retrieved from https://ezproxy.simmons.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/prpoetry/sonnet/0?institutionId=5600

Brooks, G. [Poetry Foundation]. (2017, June 6). We real cool [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.poetryfoundation.org/video/142394/we-real-cool.

Burt, S., & Mikics D. (Eds.) (2010). The art of the sonnet. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press. 

Campbell, J. (2012). Ian Hamilton Finlay: the concrete poet as avant gardener. The Guardian. Retrieved from https://www.theguardian.com/books/2012/nov/16/ian-hamilton-finlay-concrete-poetry.

Campo, R. (2001). Love song for love songs.  Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/love-song-love-songs.

Chen, K. [Academy of American Poetry]. (2014, Nov 7). The Poetic Impulse [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IKLE1XBe3ko&list= PLB0uqVEuzoEdBPF7zQQtolUkT5Xi6IOJN&index=24&t=0s.

Coleman, W. (1998). American sonnet: 35. Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/american-sonnet-35.

Coleman, W. (2001). American sonnet: 91. Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/53318/american-sonnets-91.

Crown, K. (2001). Performance poetry. In E. L. Haralson (Ed.), Encyclopedia of American poetry: the twentieth century. London, UK: Routledge. Retrieved from https://ezproxy.simmons.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/routampoetry/performance_poetry/0?institutionId=5600.

De Jesus, J. (2018). PROMESA. Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/promesa.

Denizé, D.E.M., & Newlin. (2009). The Sonnet Tradition and Claude McKay. The English Journal, 99(1), 99. Retrieved from https://search-ebscohost-com.ezproxy.simmons.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=edsjsr&AN=edsjsr.40503338&site=eds-live&scope=site.

Dove, R. (1983). Parsley. Poetry Foundation. Retrieved from http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/43355.

Drury, J. (2006). The poetry dictionary. Writer’s Digest Books. Retrieved from https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=cat01806a&AN=sim.b1372008&site=eds-live&scope=site.

Felipe Herrera, J. [Academy of American Poetry]. (DATE). The art of revision [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Loa0s-2DlFw&list=PLB0uqVEuzoEdBPF7zQQtolUkT5Xi6IOJN&index=7&t=0s.

Finch, A. (Ed.). (1994). A formal feeling comes: poems in form by contemporary women. Brownsville, OR: Story Line Press.

Fletcher Lauer, B., & Melnick, L. (Eds.). (2015). Please excuse this poem: 100 new poets for the next generation. New York, NY: Viking. 

Francisco, R. [Button Poetry] (2015, Nov 23). My honest poem [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dDa4WTZ_58M.

Francisco, R. [Button Poetry]. (2014, Aug 11). Complainers [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8NVLq2fGLc.

Gergerson, L. [Academy of American Poetry]. (2016, Mar 21). History of the sonnet [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fsA5xZ4V7dQ&list= PLB0uqVEuzoEdBPF7zQQtolUkT5Xi6IOJN&index=54&t=0s.

Greene, R., Cushman, S., Cavanagh, C., Ramazani, J., Rouzer, P. F., Feinsod, H., … Slessarev, A. (2012). The Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics. Princeton University Press. Retrieved from https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=cat 01806a&AN=sim.b2090779&site=eds-live&scope=site.

Hacker, M. (1985). Untitled (You did say, need me less and I’ll want you more). Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/untitled-you-did-say-need-me-less-and-ill-want-you-more.

Hayes, T. (2017). American sonnet for my past and future assassin [“I lock you in an American sonnet that is part prison”]. Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poetrymagazine/poems/143917/american-sonnet-for-my-past-and-future-assassin-598dc83c976f1.

Hazelton, Rebecca. (May 10, 2016). “Why write in form? mastering the traditional ways to forge new ones.” Retrieved from https://www.poetryfoundation.org/articles/89288 /why-write-in-form

Hirsch, E. (2006). Winged type.  Poetry Foundation.  Retrieved from https://www.poetryfoundation.org/articles/68423/winged-type.

Kalytiak Davis, O. (2014). My love sent me a list. Poetry Foundation. Retrieved from https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/147667/my-love-sent-me-a-list.

KANE, J., French, A. L., & FRENCH, A. L. (2012). Villanelle. In R. Green, S. Cushman, & C. Cavanagh (Eds.), The Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics (4th ed.). Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press. Retrieved from https://ezproxy.simmons.edu/login?url= https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/prpoetry/villanelle/0?institutionId=5600.

Kay, S. [TED Archive]. (2017, Feb 13). Poetry makes people nervous [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WHbgZcur7ik.

Kolocotroni, V., & Taxidou, O. (2018). The Edinburgh dictionary of modernism. Edinburgh University Press. Retrieved from https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db= cat01806a&AN=sim.b2270539&site=eds-live&scope=site

Kovacs, M. [TED-Ed]. (2017, Mar 20). What makes a poem… a poem? [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JwhouCNq-Fc.

Kwasny, M. (2004). Toward the Open Field: Poets on the Art of Poetry 1800-1950. Middletown, CT: Wesleyan University Press.

Lazarus, E. (1883). The new colossus. Academy of Aemerican Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/new-colossus.

Lucy, N., Hartley, J., Thwaites, T., Colebrook, C., Tofts, D., Briggs, R., & Wark, M. (2017). A dictionary of postmodernism. Wiley-Blackwell. Retrieved from https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=cat01806a&AN=sim.b2253870&site=eds-live&scope=site.

Matam, P. [TEDxZumbroRiver]. (2016, Nov 22). Looking for your voice? A poetry slam champ shows you how [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pfcNIpBL_e8.

Messerli, D. (2017). An eye for words: concrete poets at the Getty. Hyperallergic. Retrieved from https://hyperallergic.com/382410/concrete-poetry-words-and-sounds-in-graphic-space-the-getty-research-institute2017/?utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Weekend.

McKay, C. (1920). America. Academy of American Poetry.  Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/america-2.

McKay, C. (1918). If we must die.  Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/if-we-must-die.

Mirov, B. [Academy of American Poets]. (DATE). Social media as creative impulse [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T2ceB-o3ZBM&list=PLB0uqVEuzoEdBPF7zQQtolUkT5Xi6IOJN&index=48&t=0s.

Morice, D. (2007). The dictionary of wordplay. Brooklyn, NY: Teachers & Writers Collaborative. 

Motion, A. (2018). The ring.  Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/ring-0.

Muller, L., & Jordan, J. (Eds.). (1995). June Jordan’s Poetry for the People : a revolutionary blueprint. New York, NY:  Routledge. 

NourbeSe Philip, M. (2011). Zong!. Middletown, CT: Wesleyan University Press. 

Padgett, R. (Ed.). (2007). Handbook of Poetic Forms (2nd ed.). Brooklyn, NY: Teachers & Writers Collaborative. 

Plath, S. (1951). Mad girl's love song. Retrieved from http://hellopoetry.com/poem/664/mad-girls-love-song/.

Poetry Foundation. (2019). Retrieved from https://www.poetryfoundation.org/learn/glossary-terms.

PREMINGER, A., SCOTT, C., Caplan, D., & CAPLAN, D. (2012). Sestina. In R. Green, S. Cushman, & C. Cavanagh (Eds.), The Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics (4th ed.). Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press. Retrieved from https://ezproxy.simmons.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/prpoetry/sestina/0?institutionId=5600.

Oliver, A. (2009). From A Toast in the House of Friends [audio file]. PennSound. Retrieved from https://media.sas.upenn.edu/pennsound/authors/Oliver/04-18-09/Oliver-Akilah_04_From-A-Toast-In-The-House-Of-Friends_Segue-Series_BPC_NY_04-18-09.mp3.

Rankine, C., & Sewell, L. (Eds). (2007). American poets in the 21st century: the new poetics. Middletown, CT: Wesleyan University Press. 

Rodger, C. (2018). Concrete poetry. In V. Kolocotroni, & O. Taxidou, The Edinburgh Dictionary of Modernism. Edinburg, UK: Edinburgh University Press. Retrieved from https://ezproxy.simmons.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/edinburghnko/concrete_poetry/0?institutionId=5600.

Russell, L. (2017). What’s hanging on the hush?. Boise, ID: Ahsahta Press. 

Savage, R. (2018). Calligram. In V. Kolocotroni, & O. Taxidou, The Edinburgh Dictionary of Modernism. Edinburg, UK: Edinburgh University Press. Retrieved from https://ezproxy.simmons.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/edinburghnko/calligram/0?institutionId=5600.

Shockley, E. (2018). Claire’s song. Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/clares-song.

Silverstein, D. [TED-Ed]. (2016, June 2). The pleasure of poetic pattern [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URuMb15CWJs.

Simanowski, R. (2004). Concrete poetry in digital media: its predecessors, its presence and its future. Retrieved from http://www.dichtung-digital.org/2004/3-Simanowski.htm.

Smith, D. [Button Poetry]. (2015, Aug 4). Dinosaurs in the hood [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJwiOTeKDOQ.

Smith, D. [Button Poetry]. (2014, June 16). Dear white America [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LSp4v294xog.

Smith, P. (2008). Ethel’s sestina. Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/ethels-sestina.

Strickland, S. (2009). Born digital. Poetry Foundation  Retrieved from https://www.poetryfoundation.org/articles/69224/born-digital.

Thomas, D. (1937). Do not go gentle into that good night.  Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/15377.

Tolbert, TC, & Peterson, Trace (Eds.). (2013). Troubling the line: trans and genderqueer poetry and poetics. Callicoon, New York: Nightboat Books.

Van Jordan, A. Time reviews the Ziegfeld Follies featuring Josephine Baker, 1936. Academy of American Poetry. Retrieved from https://poets.org/poem/time-reviews-ziegfeld-follies-featuring-josephine-baker-1936.

Waldman, A. (1978). Skin, meat, bones [audio file]. PennSound. Retrieved from https://media.sas.upenn.edu/pennsound/authors/Waldman/Battery/Waldman-Anne_02_Skin-Meat-Bones_Battery_1978.mp3.

Waldman, A. [Academy of American Poetry]. (2014, Nov 7). Reading and writing long poems [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3yfsmI6ss4&list= PLB0uqVEuzoEdBPF7zQQtolUkT5Xi6IOJN&index=28&t=0s.

Wasserman, J. (2003). The Escape. New York, NY: Future Poem. Retrieved from https://www.futurepoem.com/books/the-escape.

Wiley, R. [Button Poetry]. (2013). Ten honest thoughts on being loved by a skinny boy [video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tRFOTqTicvY.

Wishart, Catherine. (2010). Analyzing literature: the formalist perspective [PowerPoint slides]. Retrieved from https://www.slideshare.net/imjhengasuncion/formalist-criticism