Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lucy Maud Montgomery for Young Readers: References

This LibGuide is for young readers looking to learn more about L. M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables, Prince Edward Island, and what to read after falling in love with the worlds of Lucy Maud Montgomery.

References:

Alcott, L.M. (2005). Little women. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/231631.Little_Women 

Amazon. (n.d.). The nine lives of L.M. Montgomery: original cast album. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.amazon.com/Nine-Lives-L-M-Montgomery-Original/dp/B001NZ2ODM 

Andronik, C.M. (1993). Kindred spirit: A biography of L.M. Montgomery, creator of Anne of Green Gables. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3575.Kindred_Spirit?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=mRdHKPQKGr&rank=27 

Anne of Green Gables Museum. (n.d.). Welcome to the Anne of Green Gables museum.https://anneofgreengablesmuseum.godaddysites.com/ 

Anne of Green Gables Wiki. (n.d.). Anne of Green Gables: 1972 television series. Fandom. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://anneofgreengables.fandom.com/wiki/Anne_of_Green_Gables_(1972_TV_series) 

Brink, C.R. (1991). Caddie Woodlawn. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1092902.Caddie_Woodlawn 

Brink, C.R. (1968). Two are better than one. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6885082-two-are-better-than-one 

Burnett, F.H. (2010). The secret garden. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/231815.The_Secret_Garden 

Canada’s Ballet Jorgen du Canada. (n.d.). Anne of Green Gables - the ballet. https://canadasballetjorgen.ca/repertoire/anne-of-green-gables-the-ballet/ 

Chan, C., & Chan K. (2020, September 1). Manga classics: Anne of Green Gables. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/53494684-manga-classics-anne-of-green-gables from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=mRdHKPQKGr&rank=34 

Concord Theatricals. (n.d.). Anne of Green Gables - the musical. https://www.concordtheatricals.com/p/2179/anne-of-green-gables-the-musical 

Coolidge, S. (1962). What Katy did. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13010443-what-katy-did 

Dodge, R. (2020, November 1). The Anne of Green Gables devotional: A chapter-by-chapter companion for kindred spirits. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/51287657-the-anne-of-green-gables-devotional?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=mRdHKPQKGr&rank=25 

Elizabeth. (2020, March 5). Plan the perfect Anne of Green Gables vacation. A Suitcase Full of Books. https://asuitcasefullofbooks.com/plan-the-perfect-anne-of-green-gables-vacation/ 

Elsie. (2019, July 19). The ultimate guide to Anne of Green Gables film adaptations. Tea and Ink Society. https://teaandinksociety.com/best-anne-of-green-gables-movie/ 

Gammel, I. (2008). Looking for Anne of Green Gables. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2452583.Looking_for_Anne_of_Green_Gables from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=mRdHKPQKGr&rank=20 

Goodreads. (n.d.). L.M. Montgomery quotes. https://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/5350.L_M_Montgomery?page=1 

Hill, K. (2019, May 7). Anne’s alphabet: Inspired by Anne of Green Gables. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41386937-anne-s-alphabet?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=mRdHKPQKGr&rank=49 

Internet Movie Database. (2005). Anne: Journey to Green Gables. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0487012/?ref_=nv_sr_srsg_0 

Internet Movie Database. (1975). Anne of Avonlea. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0187698/?ref_=fn_al_tt_2 

Internet Movie Database. (1987). Anne of Avonlea. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0092571/?ref_=nv_sr_srsg_0 

Internet Movie Database (1934). Anne of Green Gables (1934). [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0024831/?ref_=fn_al_tt_3 

Internet Movie Database. (1979). Anne of Green Gables: Akage no An (original title). [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0078560/?ref_=nv_sr_srsg_1 

Internet Movie Database. (1985). Anne of Green Gables. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0088727/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1 

Internet Movie Database. (2016). Anne of Green Gables. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4820224/?ref_=tt_sims_tti 

Internet Movie Database. (1940). Anne of Windy Poplars (1940. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0032211/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1 

Internet Movie Database. (2017-2019). Anne with an e. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5421602/?ref_=nv_sr_srsg_0 

Internet Movie Database. (1998-2003). Emily of New Moon. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0135727/ 

Internet Movie Database. (1998). Happy Christmas, Miss King. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0181570/?ref_=tt_sims_tti 

Internet Movie Database. (2007). Kaze no Shoujo Emily. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4084590/?ref_=tt_sims_tti 

Internet Movie Database. (1989). Lantern hill. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0099974/ 

Internet Movie Database. (2017). L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables: Fire & dew. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6490538/?ref_=tt_sims_tti

Internet Movie Database. (2017). L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables: The good stars. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6360810/?ref_=fn_al_tt_3 

Internet Movie Database. (1990-1996). Road to Avonlea. [Image]. Retrieved December 14, 2020 from https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0098900/?ref_=nv_sr_srsg_0 

Lee, J. (2016, March 29). Color the classics: Anne of Green Gables: A coloring book visit to Prince Edward Island [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28363339-color-the-classics?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=mRdHKPQKGr&rank=59 

Lovelace, M.H. (1995). The Betsy-Tacy treasury. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7899.The_Betsy_Tacy_Treasury?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=4m3npNBLCQ&rank=15 

L.M. Montgomery Institute. (n.d.). About L.M. Montgomery. https://www.lmmontgomery.ca/about/lmm/her-life 

L.M. Montgomery Institute. (n.d.). L. M. Montgomery: Her works. https://www.lmmontgomery.ca/about/lmm/works 

L.M. Montgomery Online. (n.d.). The Road to Yesterday. https://lmmonline.org/the-road-to-yesterday/ 

L.M. Montgomery Institute. (n.d.). Welcome to the L.M. Montgomery Institute. https://www.lmmontgomery.ca/ 

Macdonald K., & Abeler E. (2017, September 19). The Anne of Green Gables cookbook: Charming recipes from Anne and her friends in Avonlea.  [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34014116-the-anne-of-green-gables-cookbook?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=mRdHKPQKGr&rank=24 

Marsden M., & Thummler B. (2017, October 24). Anne of Green Gables: A graphic novel. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34227894-anne-of-green-gables?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=mRdHKPQKGr&rank=14 

Montgomery, L.M., & Wilmshurst, R. (1996). Across the miles. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1245943.Across_the_Miles_ 

Montgomery, L.M., & Wilmshurst, R. (1992). After many days. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/65719.After_Many_Days 

Montgomery, L.M., & Wilmshurst, R. (1994). Against the odds. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3566.Against_the_Odds?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=xkVsddqT6S&rank=5 

Montgomery, L.M., & Wilmshurst, R. (1993). Akin to Anne. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3570.Akin_to_Anne?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=U7Bj40CB6H&rank=1 

Montgomery, L.M., & Wilmshurst, R. (1990). Along the shore. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/678703.Along_the_Shore?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=LaKxybHILT&rank=1 

Montgomery, L.M., & Wilmshurst, R. (1991). Among the shadows. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/753322.Among_the_Shadows?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=nmBaaCHywa&rank=8 

Montgomery, L.M., & Lefebvre, B. (2009). A name for herself: Selected writings, 1891-1917. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/39653892-a-name-for-herself?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=0V6b0JxXL5&rank=2 

Montgomery, L.M. (1989). A tangled web. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3577.A_Tangled_Web?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=q4hra34kjl&rank=1

Montgomery, L.M., & Wilmshurst, R. (1995). At the altar. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/65696.At_the_Altar?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=Mrptrm9Dku&rank=5 

Montgomery, L.M., & Lefebvre, B. (2009). A world of songs: Selected poems, 1894-1921. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42453853-a-world-of-songs 

Montgomery, L.M., & Wilmshurst, R. (1996). Christmas with Anne and other holiday stories. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/543138.Christmas_with_Anne_and_Other_Holiday_Stories 

Montgomery, L.M. (1988). Chronicles of Avonlea. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/95694.Chronicles_of_Avonlea?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=fZQ2yPI0n8&rank=2 

Montgomery, L.M., Keith, M., & McKinley, M.B. (1934). Courageous women. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35527346-courageous-women 

Montgomery, L.M. (1983). Emily of New Moon (Emily series #1) [Image]. Barnes & Noble. https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/emily-of-new-moon-l-m-montgomery/1101566704?ean=9780553233704 

Montgomery, L.M. (1993). Further Chronicles of Avonlea. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/518445.Further_Chronicles_of_Avonlea?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=cGwnf6fxVn&rank=1

Montgomery, L.M. (1989). Jane of Lantern Hill. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/149543.Jane_of_Lantern_Hill?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=8np9LlyddU&rank=1

Montgomery, L.M. (1989). Kilmeny of the orchard. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/65769.Kilmeny_of_the_Orchard?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=xzGAqfFmKZ&rank=1 

Montgomery, L.M. (1989). Magic for Marigold. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/518452.Magic_for_Marigold?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=51pQaeXa2A&rank=1 

Montgomery, L.M. (1988). Pat of Silver Bush. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3580.Pat_of_Silver_Bush 

Montgomery, L.M. (1997). The alpine path: the story of my career. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3567.The_Alpine_Path?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=V8N8pJTMTZ&rank=1 

Montgomery, L.M. (1989). The blue castle. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/95693.The_Blue_Castle?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=GwilH4SHn2&rank=1

Montgomery, L.M., Lefebvre, B., & Epperly, E.R. (2009). The Blythes are quoted. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6616668-the-blythes-are-quoted 

Montgomery, L.M. (1990, September 1). The complete Anne of Green Gables boxed set. [Image]. Barnes & Noble. https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-complete-anne-of-green-gables-l-m-montgomery/1000287754?ean=9780553609417 

Montgomery, L.M., & McLay K. (1993). The doctor’s sweetheart. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/853995.The_Doctor_s_Sweetheart_and_Other_Stories?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=IrajdCSs20&rank=1 

Montgomery, L.M., Ferns J., & McCabe, K. (1999). The poetry of Lucy Maud Montgomery. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16454.Poetry_of_Lucy_Maud_Montgomery 

Montgomery, L.M. (1993). The road to yesterday. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8137.The_Road_to_Yesterday?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=dJa8haYoDj&rank=1 

Montgomery, L.M. (2000). The story girl. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/821099.The_Story_Girl 

Montgomery, L.M. (2018). The watchman and other poems. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37478354-the-watchman

Playscripts. (n.d.). Anne of Green Gables. https://www.playscripts.com/play/1729 

Reid, C., & Michaels K. (2018). Landscapes of Anne of Green Gables. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35489103-the-landscapes-of-anne-of-green-gables?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=mRdHKPQKGr&rank=18

Research. (2020, May 19). Calling all L.M. Montgomery fans: Share your origin stories. University of Prince Edward Island. https://www.upei.ca/communications/news/2020/05/calling-all-lm-montgomery-fans-share-your-origin-stories

Speare, E.G. (1986) The witch of Blackbird Pond. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1076924.The_Witch_of_Blackbird_Pond 

Springer, N. (2006). An Enola Holmes mystery: The case of the missing marquess. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/606928.The_Case_of_the_Missing_Marquess?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=jZizIgF7Rr&rank=3 

Streatfeild, N., & Fortnum, P. (1970). Thursday’s child. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42378.Thursdays_Child 

Sullivan Entertainment. (2018, October 26). Top 8 things to do in P.E.I. for Anne of Green Gables fans. Anne of Green Gables. https://www.anneofgreengables.com/blog/top-8-things-to-do-in-p-e-i-for-anne-of-green-gables-fans 

Teran, A. (2015, June 30). Ana of California. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23398869-ana-of-california?ac=1&from_search=true&qid=vmD34TXL5a&rank=1 

Webster, J., & Showalter, E. (2004). Daddy Long-Legs & Dear Enemy. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/53236.Daddy_Long_Legs_Dear_Enemy 

What Should I Read Next?. (n.d.). Anne of Green Gables (a Bantam classic). https://www.whatshouldireadnext.com/isbn/055321313X 

Wiggin, K.D. (2004). Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1464565.Rebecca_of_Sunnybrook_Farm 

Wilder, L.I., & Williams, G. (1994). Little house in the big woods. [Image]. Goodreads. Retrieved December 10, 2020 from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2612801-little-house-in-the-big-woods