Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Édouard Vuillard: Research Guide

What Public Institutions Hold Vuillard's Work

Both the Chicago Art Institute and The Metropolitan Museum of Art have extensive collections of Vuillard's work with detailed bibliographic information such as names of the galleries that sold Vuillard's work, collectors who purchased it, and institutions that have exhibited it. The Hermitage, the Musée d'Orsay, and the National Gallery London also have significant holdings but less information is available online; however, Museum staff are often responsive to email and phone requests, as well as in-persons visit to their libraries and print rooms. 

Where to View Vuillard's Paintings Online

Since Vuillard was active until his death in 1940, images of many of his paintings remain under copyright and cannot be published without permission, except for limited educational purposes. The below links to nine of Vuillard's most extraordinary easel paintings will help to familiarize you with his work and allow you to zoom in and look closely. 

How to Access Vuillard's Work in Private Collections

Many of Vuillard's paintings are held in private collections, which can be difficult to access. The following resources should prove useful in locating them. 

Vuillard's three-volume catalogue raisonné of paintings and pastels compiled the artist's heir Antoine Salomon and former director of the Musée d'Orsay Guy Cogeval is an essential resource. It contains detailed information on all of the artist's known works. Allthough it appears to be out-of-print, it can be accessed via ILL through most institutions.

Salomon, A. and Cogeval, G. (2003) Édouard Vuillard: Catalogue raisonné. Skira/Wildenstein. 

The Frick Photoarchive is a digital repository featuring more than one million photographic reproductions of works of art from the fourth to the mid-twentieth century. Much of Vuillard's work, particularly from the twentieth century, is available for study via their site. 

The Frick Art Reference Library Photoarchive. https://www.frick.org/research/photoarchive 

The Met's Thomas J. Watson Library has an extensive online collection of auction catalogs dating from the seventeenth through mid-twentieth centuries, and primarily drawn from American and European auction houses.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art. (n.d.) Auction Catalogs. https://www.metmuseum.org/art/libraries-and-research-centers/watson-digital-collections/auction-catalogs

Publications

Introductions to Édouard Vuillard and the Nabis

Christie's has prepared an introductory guide to Vuillard's body of work, which features 10 facts about the artist as well as a beautiful collection of images and photographs. On the left is a link to the auction house's February 2019 Impressionist and Modern Art Evening Sale that contains examples of his work recently on the market.

Christie's (n.d.). The life and art of Édouard Vuillard. https://www.christies.com/features/10-things-to-know-about-Edouard-Vuillard-8635-1.aspx

This broad-ranging guide provides an overview of the work of Pierre Bonnard, Édouard Vuillard, and lesser-known members of the Nabis.

Freches-Thory, C. and Terasse, A. (1991). The Nabis: Bonnard, Vuillard, and their circle. Harry N. Abrams, Inc.

Lucy Oakley and Stuart Preston both wrote strong general introductions to the artist. They are accessible for scholars without significant pre-existing knowledge of Vuillard's work, as well as those who are interested in developing a comprehensive literature review. Note that the quality of the reproductions in Preston's text is not as high as might be desired.

Oakley, L. (1981). Édouard Vuillard. The Artist's Limited Edition.

Preston, S. (1985). Édouard Vuillard. Harry N. Abrams, Inc.

Sabine Rewald's comprehensive guide to The Met's collection of nineteenth- and early-twentieth French paintings includes vivid pictures and detailed descriptions of those works linked to the left, as well as others in the Museum's collection.

Rewald, S. (2007). The masterpieces of French painting from The Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1800–1920. The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Exhibition Catalogues

This richly-illustrated guide contains 109 color and 7 black-and-white images. It was associated with The Jewish Museum's exhibition of the same name, which was the first major one-person exhibition of Vuillard's work in New York for more than two decades. 

Brown, S. and Brettell, R. (2012). Edouard Vuillard: A painter and his muses, 1890-1940. Yale University Press.

Guy Cogeval's in-depth overview of Vuillard is perhaps the best-regarded general introduction. As director of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and the Musée d'Orsay, Cogeval has extensive experience with post-Impressionist work and has devoted much of his scholarly life to the study of Vuillard, including producing his catalogue raisonné (linked left).

Cogeval, G. (2003). Édouard Vuillard. Yale University Press.

This exhibition catalogue for the Katonah Gallery is somewhat dated, but worth reading for those interested in exploring Vuillard's affinity for the nineteenth century's dark, cramped interiors.

Easton, Elizabeth. (1989). The intimate eye of Édouard Vuillard. Katonah Gallery.

Scholarly Works

Scholars interested in Vuillard's work within the context of a private collection with appreciate Elsa Smithgall's richly illustrated book that showcases rarely-seen paintings, prints, and decorative objects created by the Nabis. 

Bertalan, S., Cahn, I, Dessy, C., and Kuenzli, K. (2019). Bonnard to Vuillard, the intimate poetry of everyday life: The Nabi collection of Vicki and Roger Sant (E. Smithgall, Ed.).

Elizabeth Easton's volume of essays is concerned with the impact of photography on nineteenth-century artists, many of whom began experimenting with images as studies for final works. It covers seven Post-Impressionist painters and printmakers: Pierre Bonnard, George Hendrik Breitner, Maurice Denis, Henri Evenepoel, Henri Rivière, Félix Vallotton, and Édouard Vuillard. 

Chéroux, C. and Easton, E. (2012). Snapshot: Painters and photography, Bonnard to Vuillard. Yale University Press. 

Gloria Groom's book contains substantive information about Vuillard, his patrons, and his personal and professional projects. It is wonderfully illustrated and provides valuable insight into the nineteenth- and twentieth-century art market.

Groom, G. (1993). Edouard Vuillard: Painter-decorator - patrons and projects, 1892-1912. Yale University Press.