Skip to main content

The Houghton Historical Reference Collection

The Reuben Hoar Library in Littleton, MA, provides resources that chronicles and preserves Littleton's local history, and this guide aims to help those conduct such research

Further Research

Please note that the above books are not available at RHL.

References

American Historical Publications. (1985). Massachusetts Gazetteer. American Historical Publications, Inc.

Becket, J. (2007). Writing Local History. Manchester University Press.

Bentley, E.P. (2009). The Genealogist's Address Book (6th Ed.). Genealogical Publishing Company.

Brown, L.K. (1973). Wilderness Town: The Story of Bedford, Massachusetts (2nd Ed.). Privately published.

Cloues, W.J. (1896). Scrap-Book Pertaining to Hanna P. Dodge. Houghton History Room Reference Collection, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA. https://hannahdodgescrapbook.netlify.app/

Commonwealth of Massachusetts. (1854). Records of the governor and company of the Massachusetts bay in New England (Vols. I-V). https://archive.org/details/recordsofgoverno01mass/page/n8/mode/2up

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Department of Environmental Management. (1988). Atlas of Massachusetts.

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Office of the Secretary of State. (1937). Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors of the Revolutionary Warhttps://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008555379

Curran, A. (Compiler). (2015). Student Essays 1964 [Unpublished letters]. Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

Dodge, H.P. and Cloues, W.J. (Preparer). (1896). A Teacher's Message: A Memorial of Hannah Perkins Dodge, 1821-1896. Press of Alfred Mudge & Son.

Dudek, M.G. and Sutherland, F. (2011). Archeological Investigation For the Lucy Mead Tomb Restoration Project: King Street Old Burying Grounds, Littleton, Massachusetts. John Milner Associates, Inc.

Elvin, J.P. (1840). The Book of Family Crests (Vol. I). Henry Washbourne, Salisbury Square, London.

- - -. (1840). The Book of Family Crests (Vol. II). Henry Washbourne, Salisbury Square, London.

Friends of the Reuben Hoar Library. (1884) Minutes. Reuben Hoar Library Archives, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

Gross, K.D. and Zarowin, D. (Eds.). (1985). Massachusetts Officers and Soldiers in the French and Indian Wars, 1755-1756. Society of Colonial Wars in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts: New England Historic Genealogical Society.

Himmelberger, A. (Ed.). (2014). Littleton, Massachusetts, 1714-2014, Celebrating 300 Years of History. Littleton Historical Society.

HistoricalTownMaps.com. (2001). Littleton and Boxborough [Map]. Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

Hodgman, E.R. (1975). History of the Town of Westford, in the County of Middlesex, Massachusetts, 1659-1883 (Bicentennial Ed.). Mourning Mail Company.

Kamen, C. and Beatty B. (Eds.). (2014). Zen and the Art of Local History. Roman & Littlefield.

Kyvig, D.E. and Marty, M.A. (2010). Nearby History: Exploring the Past Around You. AltaMira Press.

Lazarus, A. (2007). Guide to Conservation Land of Littleton, Massachusetts (Revised ed.). Littleton Conservation Trust.

Littleton High School. (2009). No Turning Back [Yearbook]. Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

Littleton Historical Commission. (2018). Littleton Historic Resources Survey, 2017-2018 (Vols. 1-2). Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

- - -. (1998). Town of Littleton 1997-1998 Survey of Historic Resources (Vols. 1-5). Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

- - -. (2005). Town of Littleton 2003-2005 Survey of Historic Resources (Vols. 1-3). Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

Littleton Junior-Senior High School. (1957). The Keyhole [Yearbook]. Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

Littleton League of Women Voters. (1975). Littleton Massachusetts [Map]. Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

Littleton Massachusetts Town Administrator. (n.d). Annual Town Reports. https://www.littletonma.org/town-administrator/pages/annual-town-reports

Massachusetts Historical Society. (2020). Browse: Newspapers from 1774. The Annotated Newspapers of Harbottle Dorr Jr. https://www.masshist.org/dorr/browse-date/year/1774

Mavor, J.W. and Dix, B.E. (1989). Manitou: The Sacred Landscape of New England's Native Civilization. Inner Traditions.

Meyerink, K. (Ed.). (1998). Printed Sources: A Guide to Genealogical Records. Ancestry Publishing.

Mitchell, J.H. (Ed.). (2015). Stray Leaves. Massachusetts Audubon Society.

Morrison, A. and Sharples, S.P. (1897). History of the Kimball family in America, from 1634 to 1897 and of Its Ancestors the Kemballs or Kemboldes of England with an Account of the Kembles of Boston, Massachusetts. Damrell & Upham.

Ratiner, S. (Ed.). (1981). Behind My Eyes. Minuteman Vocational-Technical School.

Reuben Hoar Library. (1955). Guest Book. RHL Records, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

Shattuck, L. (1855). Memorials of the Descendants of William Shattuck, the Progenitor of the Families in America That Have Borne His Name. Printed by Dutton and Wentworth.

State Library of Massachusetts. (2020). Littleton. https://archives.lib.state.ma.us/handle/2452/427614

Town of Littleton. (1888). Reports of the Town of Littletonhttps://archives.lib.state.ma.us/handle/2452/427614

- - -. (2018). Town of Littleton, MA: Annual Report 2018. https://www.littletonma.org/sites/littletonma/files/uploads/town_report_2018.pdf

Tyrone, M. and Williams, J. (Compilers). (1988). Houghton Genealogy. Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

US Geological Survey. (1950). Ayer Quadrangle; Westford Quadrangle [Map]. Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

Wallet, F.G. (Ed.). (1972). The Boston Gazette 1974. Imprint Society.

Wicked Local (Gannett Publications). (2018). Littleton Independent. Newspaper Archives, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

William, S. (1868). A History of Massachusetts in the Civil War (Vol. 1).  E.P. Dutton & Co., Publishers.

- - -. (1868). A History of Massachusetts in the Civil War (Vol. 2).  E.P. Dutton & Co., Publishers.

Williams, J. (Compiler). (2013). Reuben Hoar (1791-1875): Littleton Farmer and Citizen. Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.

Wood, E. and Curran, N. (Researcher). (1975). Colonial Map of Littleton. Houghton History Room, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA.