Skip to main content

The Houghton Historical Reference Collection

The Reuben Hoar Library in Littleton, MA, provides resources that chronicles and preserves Littleton's local history, and this guide aims to help those conduct such research

Introduction

The Reuben Hoar Library is the public library in Littleton, MA. The Houghton Historical Room and associated collection provides resources that chronicles and preserves Littleton's local history, and this guide may help those looking into local history elsewhere. This collection was named in honor of William Stevens Houghton, who was the primary benefactor at the library's founding. While the collection is primarily overseen by the Head of Circulation, any staff member may aid researchers. The core users are those conducting genealogy, historic house research, newcomers interested in the area, and companies required to research land history. There are over 1000 "HHR" items searchable within the online catalog. The collection includes such materials as genealogies of families, town histories, historical and contemporary maps, and municipal publications. Archives in separate storage are also included in this guide. Finding aids for the Houghton Room and archives are available within the library.

The room, as well as the physical materials, may only be accessed when the library is open.

About This Guide

The following materials were selected to provide a strong overview of what is available for viewing when the library is open to the public by highlighting specific materials from each section. Besides the additions of "Online Resources" and "Further Research," the different sections on the left are based on how the room is presently organized. Thus, those interested do not need to look through each section to gain an idea of what may be available for their own research. This collection, as do other "local history" collections, goes beyond the highlighted locality, and this guide does reflect that fact. Any materials also available online have a link wherever possible. Physical resources are reference only unless otherwise noted.

Please note that the library is presently closed due to the fluid situation with Covid-19. As such, special focus on at-home availability is provided. Please contact the library about needed resources not available from home via https://www.littletonma.org/reuben-hoar-library/webforms/contact-us