Skip to main content

LGBT History: Sources

A guide for members of the Simmons community interested in learning about the history of the LGBT+ community in the US

References

References

Bronski, M. (2011). A queer history of the United States. Boston: Beacon Press.

Carlin, D., & DiGrazia, J. (2004). Queer cultures. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Pearson/Prentice Hall.

Decker, J. S. (2015). The invisible orientation: an introduction to asexuality. New York, NY : Skyhorse Publishing.

Eaklor, Vicki Lynn. (2008). Queer America: a GLBT history of the 20th century. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.

Elledge, J. (Ed.) (2010). Queers in American popular culture. Santa Barbara, CA: Praeger.

Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered history in America. (2004). M. Stein (Ed.), Vol. 1. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons. Retrieved from http://libraries.state.ma.us/login?gwurl=http://go.galegroup.com.ezproxy.simmons.edu:2048/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=mlin_b_simmcol&v=2.1&it=aboutBook&id=GALE|5CMP

Faderman, L. et al. (Eds.). (2007). Great events from history: Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender events, 1848-2006. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press.

Freeman, M. (Producer). (2014). Transgender Tuesdays: A Clinic in the Tenderloin [Video file].  [San Francisco, California, USA] : Kanopy Streaming. Video retrieved from http://simmons.kanopystreaming.com/video/transgender-tuesdays

Hawley, J. C., & Nelson, E. S. (2009). LGBTQ America today: an encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.

The History Project. Boston, MA. Retrieved December 6, 2017 from http://www.historyproject.org/

Homosexuality/LGBT Collection, Sophia Smith Collection. Smith College, Northampton, MA. Retrieved December 7, 2017 from http://asteria.fivecolleges.edu/findaids/sophiasmith/mnsss120_admin.html

Human Rights Campaign. (n.d.). Glossary of terms. Human Rights Campaign. Retrieved December 5, 2017 from https://www.hrc.org/resources/glossary-of-terms

Lesbian Herstory Archives. Brooklyn, NY. Retrieved December 6, 2017 from http://www.lesbianherstoryarchives.org/

LGBT Community Center National History Archive. New York, NY. Retrieved December 6, 2017 from https://gaycenter.org/archives

Mogul J. L., & Ritchie, A. J., & Whitlock, K. (2011) Queer (in)justice: the criminalization of LGBT people in the United States. Boston: Beacon Press.

Morgensen, Scott Lauria. (2011). Spaces between us: queer settler colonialism and indigenous decolonization. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press.

National LGBT Health Education Center. (2016, March). Glossary of LGBT Terms for health care teams. Retrieved from https://www.lgbthealtheducation.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/LGBT-Glossary_Jun2017.pdf

New York City Trans Oral History Project. New York, NY. Retrieved December 6, 2017 from https://www.nyctransoralhistory.org/

Northeastern University Archives and Special Collections. Boston, MA. Retrieved December 6, 2017 from http://library.northeastern.edu/archives-special-collections/find-collections/finding-aids#glbtqa

PFLAG national glossary of terms. (n.d.). PFLAG. Retrieved December 5, 2017 from https://www.pflag.org/glossary

Quesada, U., & Gomez, L., & Vidal-Ortiz, S. (Eds.). (2015). Queer brown voices: personal narratives of Latina/o LGBT activism. Austin: University of Texas Press.

Scagliotti, J. (Producer) & Schiller, G., & Rosenberg R. (Directors). (1984). Before Stonewall [Motion picture]. First Run Films (Distributor). [San Francisco, California, USA] : Kanopy Streaming. Video retrieved from http://simmons.kanopystreaming.com/video/stonewall

Scagliotti, J. (Director). (1999). After Stonewall [Motion picture].  First Run Films (Distributor). [San Francisco, California, USA] : Kanopy Streaming. Video retrieved from http://simmons.kanopystreaming.com/video/after-stonewall

Sexual Minorities Archives. Holyoke, MA. Retrieved December 6, 2017 from https://sexualminoritiesarchives.wordpress.com/

Stryker, Susan. (2008) Transgender history. Berkeley, CA: Seal Press.

Stonewall Inn 1969

 

 

A gay couple protest in front of the Supreme Court

 

 

Gay Pride March, London 1974

 

 

Laverne Cox poses on the red carpet